The American Board of Internal Medicine (ABIM) continues to refine the requirements for Maintenance of Certification (MOC). With these changes, MOC demonstrates internists’ and subspecialists’ ongoing engagement in lifelong learning and continuous quality improvement.

While maintaining certification is not mandatory, ABIM encourages physicians to participate in MOC to demonstrate to colleagues and the public their commitment to lifelong learning. In 2015, ABIM changed the language from “Meeting MOC Requirements” to “participating in MOC” when publicly reporting a physician’s MOC status at The American Board of Medical Specialties (ABMS) also makes this information available to the public at

Maintenance of Certification Requirements

Here’s a quick review of the current MOC requirements:

Every 2 years (to be reported as participating in MOC):

  • Complete at least one (1) MOC activity
    Points earned will count toward the 5 year requirement

Every 5 years (to stay certified):

  • Earn 100 MOC point, 20 of which must be Medical Knowledge

Every 10 years (to stay certified):

  • Pass the MOC Exam for your certification(s) within 10 years of when you last passed.

How to Be Reported as “Participating in MOC”

In order to be publicly reported as “participating in MOC,” be sure to take one of the following steps:

  • If you’re already enrolled in the MOC program: Log in to and identify which certifications you wish to maintain.
  • If you’re not already enrolled in the MOC program: Log in to and enroll by identifying which certifications you wish to maintain.

Changes for “Grandfathered” Individuals

Diplomates with a certification that is valid indefinitely who miss any of the MOC program requirements will be reported as “Certified, Not Meeting MOC Requirements.” They will not be reported as “Not Certified” for failing to meet MOC requirements. Requirements and associated deadlines include:

  • Completing an MOC activity every 2 years**
  • Earning 100 MOC points with a minimum of 20 points in medical knowledge
  • Passing the MOC exam by December 31, 2023

Registration Deadlines & Exam Dates

To view the complete set of certification and recertification exam dates for all ABIM MOC exams, click here.
To view the complete set of certification and recertification exam dates for ABIM initial certification exams, click here.

For more information about about the new ABIM MOC requirements, visit the ABIM website.

* Physicians holding 10-year internal medicine and subspecialty certifications will have until the final year of their certification to pass their exam. Exams for certificates that are contingent upon “Meeting MOC Requirements” will be due 10 years from when they were last passed.

** The points earned every 2 years count toward your 5-year 100-point total.

*** In order to take the MOC exam, you must enroll in the ABIM MOC program by this date.