Originally established by the American Board of Medical Specialties (ABMS), the Maintenance of Certification (MOC) process is intended to create a framework for physicians to follow, establish standards, and maintain accountability in the field of medicine. The process encompasses initial as well as recertification under the American Board of Internal Medicine (ABIM).

Continuing your education is vital to building your knowledge, maintaining your professional standing, and providing the best possible care for your patients.

Internal Medicine Board Certification: Initial Certification

Upon completing your post-doctoral studies, you must meet training requirements, licensure requirements, and procedural requirements. You will then be considered “board eligible,” for a seven-year period and can take the ABIM initial certification examination. Upon passing the ABIM certification exam, you will be considered “board certified.” If you do not become board certified during the seven-year period of board eligibility, you will no longer be considered board eligible and will need to undergo retraining to take the exam.

Internal Medicine Board Certification: Maintenance

ABIM certification outlines and defines the standard for physicians in the field of internal medicine. Incorporating the six general competencies established by the Accreditation Council for Graduate Medical Education (ACGME), ABIM Maintenance of Certification is a vehicle for physicians to cultivate the habit of lifelong learning through continuous skill building and self-assessment.

To understand all of your ABIM Maintenance of Certification requirements, check out our ABIM MOC Guide.

ACGME Core Competencies: The Foundation of Maintenance of Certification

The ACGME Core Competencies are the foundation of ABIM board certification and MOC. They are recognized as the standard by which all physicians must practice, and have been widely accepted and implemented across all medical education training programs. The ACGME Core Competencies are:

Obtaining and Maintaining Your Internal Medicine Board Certification

Developed by the publishers of the New England Journal of Medicine, NEJM Knowledge+ Internal Medicine Board Review is a comprehensive learning program geared toward you: it adapts to your strengths and weaknesses, is relevant to your practice of medicine, and fits seamlessly into your schedule. Our blueprint-driven program helps you prepare for the Internal Medicine Board Certification exam, the Maintenance of Certification exam, and the ABIM Longitudinal Knowledge Assessment (LKA™), but that’s just the beginning. You can also earn your required ABIM MOC points and CME credits with our adaptive learning platform, making lifelong learning into a truly efficient, effective use of your time.

Learn more about the features and benefits of NEJM Knowledge+ Internal Medicine Board Review.

Accreditation Statement

The Massachusetts Medical Society is accredited by the Accreditation Council for Continuing Medical Education to provide continuing medical education for physicians.

The American Medical Association has an agreement of mutual recognition of Continuing Medical Education (CME) credits with the European Union of Medical Specialists (UEMS), the accreditation body for European countries. Physicians interested in converting AMA PRA Category 1 Credit™ to UEMS-European Accreditation Council for Continuing Medical Education CME credits (ECMECs) should contact the UEMS at mutualrecognition@uems.eu.

AMA Credit Designation Statement

The Massachusetts Medical Society designates each enduring material for the number of AMA PRA Category 1 Credits™ listed below. Physicians should claim only the credit commensurate with the extent of their participation in the activity.

NEJM Knowledge Internal Medicine Board Review: 357 AMA PRA Category 1 Credits™


ABIM CME MOCSuccessful completion of this CME activity, which includes participation in the evaluation component, enables the participant to earn up to 357 MOC points in the American Board of Internal Medicine's (ABIM) Maintenance of Certification (MOC) program. Participants will earn MOC points equivalent to the amount of CME credits claimed for the activity. It is the CME activity provider's responsibility to submit participant completion information to ACCME for the purpose of granting ABIM MOC credit.

Royal College of Physicians and Surgeons of Canada

Through an agreement between the Accreditation Council for Continuing Medical Education and the Royal College of Physicians and Surgeons of Canada, medical practitioners participating in the Royal College MOC Program may record completion of accredited activities registered under the ACCME’s “CME in Support of MOC” program in Section 3 of the Royal College’s MOC Program.

AAPA Credit Designation Statement

AAPA accepts certificates of participation for educational activities certified for AMA PRA Category 1 Credits™ from organizations accredited by ACCME or a recognized state medical society. Physician assistants may receive a maximum of 357 hours of Category I credit for completing this program.