Each state’s medical licensing board has its own set of licensure requirements for continuing education. Find your state in the list below to review the required CME credits and licensure periods.

Always check with your state medical board for the latest CME requirements.

Updated on April 9, 2020.
Alabama2 hours every 2 years
Alabama Controlled Substance Certificate (ACSC) holders must complete 2 Category 1 hours every 2 years in the area of controlled substance prescribing practices, recognizing signs of the abuse or misuse of controlled substances, or controlled substance prescribing for chronic pain.
Alabama
(PA)
4 hours every 2 years
Licensees who hold a Qualified Alabama Controlled Substances Certificate (QACSC) are required 4 hours of AMA PRA Category 1 Credit™ in advanced pharmacology and prescribing trends relating to controlled substances every two years.
Alaska2 hours every 2 years
Each licensee who holds a DEA number, must take at least 2 hours (AMA Category 1 or AOA Category 1 or 2) in pain management and opioid use and addiction.
Alaska
(PA)
2 hours every 2 years
Holders of a valid federal DEA registration number are required 2 hours in pain management and opioid misuse and abuse.
Arkansas
(PA)
1 hours every year; plus one-time requirements
Beginning with 2019 renewals, all licensees are required to complete 1 hour on the prescribing of opioids and benzodiazepines.PAs authorized to prescribe Schedule II medications must complete a one-time requirement of 5 hours in the area of pain management.All licensed prescribers must complete a one-time requirement of 3 hours in prescribing education, including Board Regulations and Laws, record keeping, and maintaining safe, professional boundaries within the first 2 years of licensure.
Arizona (MD/DO)3 hours every 2 years
Health professionals with a valid DEA registration number must complete 3 hours of opioid-related substance use disorder or addiction-related CME each renewal cycle.
Arizona
(PA)
3 hours every cycle
Effective April 26, 2018, licensees who are authorized to prescribe Schedule II controlled substances and hold a valid DEA number or a licensee who is authorized to dispense controlled substances shall complete a minimum of 3 hours of CE related to opioids, substance abuse/use disorder, or addiction every renewal.
California (MD/DO)12 hours or units, one-time
Physicians (except pathologists and radiologists) must take 12 units on pain-management and the appropriate care and treatment of the terminally ill.
OR, physicians may complete 12 credit hours in the subjects of treatment and management of opiate-dependent patients, including 8 hours of training in buprenorphine treatment or other similar medicinal treatment for opioid use disorders.
California
(PA)
6 hours, one-time
Licensees authorized to prescribe controlled substances have a one-time requirement of 6 hours of controlled substance education that includes 3 hours specific to Schedule II substances. Effective January 1, 2019, controlled substance education must include the risks of addiction associated with the use of Schedule II controlled substances.
Colorado
(PA)
1 hour every 6 years
Effective March 30, 2020, all physicians and physician assistants are required 2 hours of training to demonstrate competency in preventing substance abuse and/or to demonstrate competency in treating patients with substance use disorders, every renewal. Training must cover or be related to the following topics: the best practices for opioid prescribing, according to the most recent version of the Division’s Guidelines for the Safe Prescribing and Dispensing of Opioids; the recognition of substance use disorders; the referral of patients with substance use disorders for treatment; and the use of the electronic prescription drug monitoring program created in C.R.S. 12-280-4
Connecticut1 hour every 6 years
Physicians must take 1 contact hour of training or education on the topic of risk management, including, but not limited to, prescribing controlled substances and pain management.
Connecticut
(PA)
1 hour every 2 years
Maintain certification through the National Commission on Certification of Physician Assistants (NCCPA) and complete 1 hour of prescribing controlled substances and pain management every two years.
Delaware2 hours, every 2 years
Physicians must complete 2 hours of CE every 2 years in the areas of controlled substance prescribing practices, treatment of chronic pain, or other topics related to prescribing controlled substances.
Delaware
(PA)
2 hours, every 2 years
PAs with prescriptive authority are required 2 hours in the area of controlled substance prescribing practices, treatment of chronic pain, or other topics relating to controlled substances, and 1 hour on Delaware Law pertaining to the prescribing and distribution of controlled substances within the first year of registration.
Washington, DC1 course every 2 years
Physicians, PAs, and Nurses must complete 1 course in the subject of pharmacology.
Florida (MD/DO)2 hours every 2 years
Each person registered with the DEA and authorized to prescribe controlled substances must complete 2 hours of AMA Category 1 or AOA Category 1A on prescribing controlled substances.
Florida
(PA)
10 hours every 2 years
PAs registered with the Drug Enforcement Administration (DEA) and authorized to prescribe controlled substances must complete 10 hours in the specialty area of the supervising physician, 3 of which must be on the safe and effective prescribing of controlled substance medications.
Georgia3 hours
Each licensee with a DEA registration and who prescribes controlled substances must complete 3 hours of Category 1 CME on responsible opioid prescribing.
Georgia
(PA)
3 hours every 2 years
Licensees who are authorized to issue prescription drugs are required a minimum of 3 hours in practice specific pharmaceuticals (according to prescription order privileges of the supervising physician) every renewal cycle.
Illinois3 hours
Beginning in 2020, physicians must complete 3 CME hours on safe opioid prescribing practices.
Illinois
(PA)
3 hours every 2 years
Licensees who prescribe controlled substances must complete 3 hours of safe opioid prescribing practices every two years. Licensees with Schedule II controlled substances prescriptive authority are required 10 hours of pharmacology every two years.
Indiana2 hours
Physicians must complete 2 hours of CME on the topic of opioid prescribing and opioid abuse.
Indiana
(PA)
2 hours every 2 years
Effective July, 1 2019, all practitioners registered to dispense controlled substances must have completed 2 hours of continuing education during the previous two years addressing the topics of opioid prescribing and opioid abuse.
Iowa2 hours, every 5 years
Physicians must complete 2 hours of Category 1 training for chronic pain management.
Iowa
(PA)
2 hours, every 2 years
Licensees who have prescribed opioids during the previous licensing period are required to complete 2 hours regarding the CDC Guidelines for prescribing opioids for chronic pain every two years.
Kentucky4.5 hours every 3 years
Licensees who are authorized to prescribe or dispense controlled substances must complete 4.5 hours of approved continuing education hours relating to the use of KASPER, pain management, addiction disorders, or a combination of 2 or more of those subjects.NEJM Knowledge and Pain Management and Opioids is approved for 4.5 HB1 credit hours to go towards the Kentucky CME requirement for HB 1/Prescribing Controlled Substances, the remaining hours of the course will apply towards regular CME credit.
Louisiana3 hours one-time only
All licensees with a CDS license must complete a one-time, 3 our CME course on drug diversion training, best prescribing practices of controlled substances, and appropriate treatment for addiction.
Louisiana
(PA)
3 hours one-time only
Practitioners with a Controlled Dangerous Substance (CDS) license are required at least 3 hours of Board-approved continuing education on the best practices for the prescribing of CDS, drug diversion training, appropriate treatment for addiction, and the treatment of chronic pain.
Maine (MD/DO)3 hours every 2 years
All licensees must complete 3 hours of AMA category 1 CME on opioid prescribing every 2 years.
Maine
(PA)
3 hours every 2 years
Licensees with prescriptive authority are required 3 hours on the prescribing of opioid medication every renewal.
Maryland1 hours every 2 years
Physicians must complete 1 Category 1 CME hour on opioid prescribing.
Maryland
(PA)
2 hours one-time only
PAs applying for a new or renewal registration to dispense or prescribe controlled dangerous substances from the Office of Controlled Substances Administration (OCSA) must complete a one-time requirement of 2 hours on the prescribing or dispensing of controlled dangerous substances.
Massachusetts3 credit hours each cycle
Licensees must complete 3 credits on opioids and pain management.
Massachusetts
(PA)
Every renewal cycle
Licensees authorized to prescribe controlled substances must complete continuing education relative to: effective pain management, the risks of abuse and addiction associated with opioid medications, the identification of patients at risk for substance abuse, counseling patients about the side effects, addictive nature and proper storage and disposal of prescription medications, appropriate prescription quantities with an increased risk of abuse, and opioid antagonists and overdose prevention treatments.
Michigan (MD/DO)3 hours every 3 years
Physicians must complete 3 hours of Category 1 CME in the area of pain and symptom management
Michigan
(PA)
one-time training
Beginning September 1, 2019, a PA seeking a controlled substance license, or who is licensed to prescribe or dispense controlled substances, must complete a one-time training in opioids and controlled substance awareness prior to being issued a controlled substance license.
Mississippi5 hours
Those with active DEA certificates must complete 5 Category 1 hours on the subject of prescribing medications with an emphasis on controlled substances.
Mississippi
(PA)
10 hours every 2 years
PAs authorized to prescribe controlled substances must show proof of completing 10 hours related to the prescribing of medications with an emphasis on controlled substances each renewal.
Nebraska3 hours every 2 years
Physicians who prescribe controlled substances must complete at least 3 hours of CME every 2 years regarding prescribing opioids. One half hour of these 3 hours must cover PDMPs.
Nebraska
(PA)
3 hours every 2 years
Beginning with renewals on or after October 1, 2018, licensees who prescribe controlled substances must complete at least 3 hours on prescribing opiates, which may include, but is not limited to, education regarding prescribing and administering opiates, the risks and indicators regarding development of addiction to opiates, and emergency opiate situations. One half-hour of the 3 hours must cover the Prescription Drug Monitoring Program (PDMP) described in sections 71-2454 to 71-2456 of the Nebraska Revised Statutes.
Nevada
(MD)
4 hours every 2 years
Physicians must complete 2 Category 1 hours in medical ethics, pain management, or addiction care, 2 Category 1 hours in misuse and abuse of controlled substances, prescribing opioids, or addiction.
Nevada
(DO)
2 hours every odd year renewal
Osteopathic physicians must complete 2 hours in ethics, pain management, or addiction care.
Nevada
(PA)
2 hours every odd year renewal
PAs must complete 2 hours in ethics, pain management, and/or addiction care every renewal.
New Hampshire3 hours every 2 years
Physicians must complete 3 hours on pain management as part of their 2 year renewal cycle.
New Hampshire
(PA)
3 hours each year
Licensees who hold a DEA license number, as a condition of license renewal, are required to complete 3 hours of continuing education in opioid prescribing for the management or treatment of pain, or for the treatment of opioid use disorders each year.
New Jersey1 hour every 2 years
Physicians must complete 1 Category 1 Credit hour in topics concerning prescription opioid drugs, including responsible prescribing practices, alternatives to opioids for managing and treating pain, and the risks and signs of opioid abuse, addiction and diversion.
New Jersey (PA)1 hour every 2 years
Licensees authorized to prescribe controlled substances are required 1 hour in topics related to responsible opioid prescribing, alternatives to opioids for managing and treating pain, and the risks and signs of opioid abuse, addiction, and diversion.
New Mexico (MD)5 hours every 3 years
New and current physician licensees who hold a federal DEA registration and license to prescribe opioids must complete 5 CME hours in pain management.
New Mexico (PA)2 hours every 2 years
Licensees who hold a federal DEA registration and a New Mexico controlled substance registration are required 3 hours in pain management and the prescribing of controlled substances every renewal.
New Mexico (OPA)6 hours every 2 years
Licensees who hold a federal DEA registration and a license to prescribe opioids are required 6 hours in non-cancer pain management that includes a review of 16.17.4 NMAC every renewal.
New York3 hours
Prescribers who have a DEA registration number to prescribe controlled substances, as well as residents who prescribe controlled substances under a facility DEA registration number, must complete at least 3 hours in pain management, palliative care, and addiction.
New York
(PA)
3 hours every 3 years
Controlled substance prescribers are required at least 3 hours of training in pain management, palliative care, and addiction by July 1, 2017, and every three years thereafter.
North Carolina3 hours every 3 years
Physicians who prescribe controlled substances must complete at least 3 hours of Category 1 CME designed to address controlled substance prescribing practices and shall include instruction on controlled substance prescribing practices, recognizing signs of the abuse or misuse of controlled substances, and controlled substance prescribing for chronic pain management.
North Carolina (PA)2 hours every 2 years
Licensees authorized to prescribe controlled substances are required 2 hours in controlled substances every renewal.
Ohio20 hours every 2 years
Physician owner/operators of pain management clinics must complete 20 hours of Category 1 CME in pain medicine every 2 years, to include one or more courses addressing the potential for addiction.
Ohio 
(PA)
12 hours every 2 years
PAs authorized to prescribe must complete 12 hours in pharmacology pertaining to medicine/medications from an accredited institution recognized by the state medical board every two years.
Oklahoma (MD)1 hour every 3 years
Licensees must complete at least 1 hour of education in pain management OR 1 hour of education in opioid use or addiction in each renewal cycle unless the licensee has demonstrated to the satisfaction of the Board that the licensee does not currently hold a valid federal DEA registration number.
Oklahoma (DO)1 hour, every 2 years
Osteopathic physicians must earn 1 hour on prescribing, dispensing, and administering controlled substances.
Oklahoma (PA)1 hour, every 2 years
PAs must earn 1 hour of Category 1 CME on the topic of substance abuse.
Oregon6 hours one time
Licensees must complete a 1 hour course on pain management and a minimum of 6 CME credit hours in the subject of pain management and/or the treatment of terminally ill and dying patients. Exceptions include licensees holding Lapsed, Limited, Telemedicine, Teleradiology, or Telemonitoring licenses.
Oregon 
(PA)
6 hours one time
There is a one-time requirement of 6 hours in pain management and/or treatment of the terminally ill and dying patients. An additional 1 hour must be specific to Oregon provided by the Pain Management Commission of the Department of Human Services.
Pennsylvania (MD/DO)4 hours, once, for initial licensure; 2 hours, every 2 years
Within 12 months of initial licensure, licensees must take 2 hours of CME on pain management or identification of addiction, as well as 2 hours on practices of prescribing or dispensing opioids. Subsequent license renewals require 2 hours of CME on pain management, identification of addiction, or prescribing practices.
Pennsylvania (PA/OPA)2 hours, every 2 years
Licensees with prescriptive authority, as a condition of license renewal, are required 2 hours in pain management, the identification of addiction or the practices of prescribing or dispensing of opioids.
Rhode Island4 hours every two years
AMA Category 1 or AOA Category 1A credits on pain management, universal precautions, infection control, modes of transmission, bioterrorism, end of life education, palliative care, OHSA, or ethics.
Rhode Island (PA)8 hours one-time
Effective January 2, 2020, licensees who prescribe Schedule II opioids have a one-time requirement of 8 hours of Category I CME in any or all of the following topics: The appropriate prescribing of opioids for pain; Pharmacology; Adverse events; Potential for dependence; Tolerance; Substance use disorder; and Alternatives to opioids for pain management.
South Carolina2 hours every 2 years
Licensees must complete at least 2 hours of Category 1 credits related to approved procedures for prescribing and monitoring schedules II-IV controlled substances.
South Carolina (PA)4 hours every 2 years
All licensees who are authorized to prescribe controlled substances are required 4 hours of controlled substance education every renewal.
Tennessee (MD)2 hours every 2 years
Licensees must complete 2 hours on controlled substance prescribing, including instruction in the Department’s treatment guidelines on opioids, benzodiazepine, barbiturates, and carisoprodol and may include topics such as addiction, risk management tolls, and other topics approved by the Board. Providers of intractable pain treatment must have specialized CME in pain management.
Tennessee (DO)2 hours every 2 years
At least 2 credit hours must be a course(s) designated to address prescribing practices.
Tennessee
(PA)
2 hours every 2 years
All licensees are required 2 hours of prescribing controlled substances which must include instruction in the TN Chronic Pain Guidelines.
Texas2 hours every 2 years
Licensees must complete 2 AMA Category 1 or AOA Category 1A hours on medical ethics and/or professional responsibility, including, but not limited to, risk management, domestic abuse, or child abuse. Licensees practicing in a pain management clinic must complete 10 hours of CME annually in the area of pain management.
Texas
(PA)
2 hours every 2 years
Beginning with 2021 renewals and annually thereafter, licensees practicing direct patient care must complete 2 hours of Category 1 credit covering safe and effective pain management related to the prescription of opioids and controlled substances. Additionally, licensees authorized to prescribe or dispense opioids shall annually attend at least 1 hour covering best practices and topics related to pain management and treatment options.
Utah
(MD/DO)
3.5 hours
Controlled substance prescribers must complete at least 3.5 hours of continuing education in 1 or more controlled substance prescribing classes.
Utah
(PA)
4 hours every 2 years
All controlled substance prescribers must complete 4 hours in controlled substance prescribing every renewal, .5 of which must be completed through an online tutorial and test, as described by the Board in section 58-37f-402.* The remaining 3.5 hours may be completed through an AMA PRA Category 1 Credit™ course that meets Board requirements. *The online tutorial and test may only be offered by the Division of Occupational and Professional Licensing. Access the training here: https://dopl.utah.gov/csd/index.html.
Vermont
(MD)
3 hours every 2 years
Licensees must earn 1 hour on hospice, palliative care, or pain management services. Additionally, each licensee who holds a DEA registration number must earn at least 2 CME hours on the safe and effective prescribing of controlled substances and pain management.
Vermont
(PA)
2 hours every 2 years
Beginning with 2018 renewals, all licensees who prescribe controlled substances must show evidence of 2 hours related to the safe and effective prescribing of controlled substances.
Virginia2 hours every 2 years
Licensees must earn 2 hours in pain management, proper prescribing of controlled substances and the diagnosis and management of addiction.
Virginia
(PA)
2 hours every 2 years
Effective July 1, 2017, prescribers are required 2 hours in topics related to pain management, responsible prescribing of covered/controlled substances, and diagnosis and management of addiction every renewal.
Washington (MD/DO/PA)1 hour, one-time requirement
Effective January 1, 2019, any physician licensed to prescribe opioids must complete a 1 hour CE requirement regarding best practices in the prescribing of opioids or the opioid prescribing rules of the Washington Administrative Code.
West Virginia (MD/DO/PA/OPA)3 hours, every 2 year renewal cycle
Physicians who have prescribed, administered, or dispensed any controlled substance pursuant to a West Virginia license in the two-year license cycle preceding renewal, are required to complete 3-hours of Board-approved CME in drug diversion training and best practice prescribing of controlled substances training during each reporting period.
Wisconsin2 hours every 2 years
Licensees must complete 2 hours of Category 1 hours on the opioid prescribing guidelines issued by the Board.

Source of state requirements: Federation of State Medical Boards (FSMB)

 

Learn about our Free Pain Management CME